reviews


This gite is fantastic. All these reviews are genuine as surely no one can fault this place for its location, high end finish, resto’s next door and Ursula’s attention to detail. I highly recommend you stay here. Loved it.

 

Colin

July 2019


 

A fabulously characterful and peaceful gite in a wonderful, friendly village. Ursula was very warm and welcoming. Such a great host, guide, and advisor. The gite is full of wonderful art, and has such great light streaming through the windows. The village is fabulous, with a wonderful cooperative epicerie, two great restaurants, and the best bakers I have been to in a long time. The bakery also has a tea room and art gallery, and a lovely tea garden at the rear. The gite, the village.... absolute hidden gems. Loved it!

 

Henry

May 2019

 


 

If I could give this place more stars I would, it’s blissfully peaceful, beautifully decorated and the village has absolutely everything you could possibly need. It’s quiet and enchanting and Ursula couldn’t have been more helpful and lovely to deal with. Adore this place and…Read more

 

Katherine

May 2019


 

Ursula’s house is absolutely stunning. We throughly enjoyed our short stay there and would highly recommend it if you are in the area.

 

James

May 2019


 

A really stylish and cosy apartment in a cute and picturesque village. We didn’t see Ursula during our stay but she was a very helpful and thoughtful host. We highly recommend the creperie around the corner and enjoyed visiting the surrounding area. Car essential!

 

Christoph

April 2019

 


 

A wonderful location, a quiet village with all the amenities you could need and a stylish space to relax!

 

Michael

March 2019


 

Ursula's place is laid out so well, she has considered everything and we would recommended any one to stay. The village is exceptional with so much to offer. Great bakery, village bio store and restaurants. It is also home to the Toilet de Mayenne weaving mills. Its hard to find a better place and village that ticks all the boxes.

 

Colin

February 2019


 

This is a beautiful gîte which has everything you could need for your stay in Saint-Georges-Buttavent. It’s a very comfortable space with some wonderful touches - candles, logs for the fire, books and some great artwork. The village itself has an excellent épicerie, boulangerie (with small tearoom) and The Forge restaurant is definitely worth a visit. Ursula, thank you for an excellent stay!

 

Lucy

January 2019

 


 

Excellent stay here in Mayliss gite - wonderfully styles and exactly the kind of remoteness but connection we were after. Would thoroughly recommend.

 

Sam

January 2019


 

Great apartment, well thought out for visitors and very helpful host, Thankyou, we really enjoyed our stay, would definitely recommend.

 

Claire

December 2018


 

The gite was the perfect place for a relaxing getaway. We really enjoyed the beauty of the space. I'd highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a peaceful time in a French village. We especially enjoyed walking in the woods near the property. Top notch! Thank you Ursula!

 

Rachel

November 2018


 

Such a wonderful propperty. Beautiful and comfortable. Highly recommend a stay here!

 

Ella

October 2018


 

Mayliss was a stunning place to stay - utterly stylish, beautifully equipped and lovingly furnished. Fontaine-Daniel was a fascinating village - if you have time do ask Ursula to give you a tour of the village. The surrounding area is beautiful - genuine rural France with lots to discover. Ursula is a superb host.

 

Alison

September 2018

 


 

Ursula was an excellent host. Available without being intrusive. The accommodation is very well thought out and the attention to detail is excellent. We had a very comfortable stay. Fontaine Daniel is a lovely little village with all the amenities you might need and the locals are very welcoming and helpful. The L'epicerie is a gem selling everything from a cup of coffee, fresh fruit and veg and even books. The boulangerie provided excellent croissants for breakfast.

 

Kristy

July 2018

 


 

We had a fabulous stay in Ursula’s gite. The photos really don’t do the space justice - it was absolutely wonderful. Ursula was a generous and helpful host and there were lots of lovely little touches which made our stay all the more special! Thank you Ursula - we had a wonderful time!

 

 

Peter

June 2018

 


 

the pictures of this beautiful Gite are great, but its actually even better than it looks, the shower is powerful the bed is so comfy the furniture not only beautiful but also really good quality. the situation is perfect the creperie is great, the epicerie which is on the doorstep serves great coffee, wine and menu de jour, they also had a concert while we were there we were welcomed by the local community, we also ate at the Forge, more formal beautiful food. supermarkets in Mayenne for every possible need and the market too. we will definitely return thank yo Ursula for what was a magical weekend in a beautiful location.

 

Angela

June 2018


 

Wow, what an amazing space Ursula had provided. A spacious gite for two in a beautiful little village; very friendly and picturesque. The gite is furnished with an artist’s eye, with a mix of antiques and modern facilities, and some great local art. Very comfortable, with a beautiful log burner and a massive bath, which was just what we needed after a day on the motorbike and an hour’s heavy downpour. The fire was perfect for a nap before we ventured out to look around the village. L’Epicerie next door was absolutely amazing. It had everything from local produce and beer, to the essentials for a trip when you are travelling light. They also have a small bar area for a quick beer / wine and a mooch amongst the English and French books on sale. I can’t recommend this gite highly enough. It was an absolute pleasure and Ursula was the perfect host. She was there to greet us, gave us enough information to help us on our stay, and then left us to our own devices. Communication was always instant and she was a pleasure to deal with. We’ll most definitely be back. Thanks again Ursula.

 

Jason

May 2018


 

A perfect setting. Very smart but welcoming and comfortable. Ideal central location in a beautiful village. Will definitely return for a longer stay.

 

Margaret

April 2018

 


 

A real gem, beautiful surroundings and a great welcome, this lovely cottage is extremely comfortable for a short break or to get away from it all for a bit longer.

 

Elizabeth

April 2018

 

This was a flying visit to Fontaine-Daniel as a recce for a longer stay for our wedding anniversary. The gite is a delight, handcrafted by local artisans using traditional materials with original touches. It's extremely comfortable with all amenities and finished to a high standard. A lovely place to relax and unwind The village is exceptional, built by a beautiful lake in the eighteenth century and home of the beautiful Toiles de Mayenne linen which is manufactured in an ancient mill there. There's a fabulous elegant factory shop too. The creperie and restaurant are delicious and we and managed to fit in a visit to the little local nunnery in the woods and see their chapel, herb garden and buy some local honey and homemade bees wax candles.

 

Ursula could not have been more helpful with arrangements and gave us a personal guided tour of the village and a welcome glass of wine in the nearby epicerie.

 

A magical place and we're so looking forward to the visit in the summer.

 

Carrie

March 2018


 

Hi Ursula! Id like to say thank you very much for letting us stay in this beautiful little place. Honestly i couldnt have been anymore relaxed. So glad you have made this possible for people like us, stunning place and fantastic hospitality. We highly recommend and shall definitely be back as soon as we can but for a little longer this time. Thanks again Sam.

 

Samuel

March 2018

 


 

Everything about this place is amazing. Idyllic setting, stunning interior and so many little touches that made the stay magical. The local area is amazing with the river and the old Abbey that is now a home for cows....great local food and really friendly people. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

 

Lorraine

November 2017

 


 

Ursula’s house is absolutely stunning. We throughly enjoyed our short stay there and would highly recommend it if you are in the area.

 

James

May 2019

 

The place is amazing, it even looks better than the pictures. Finding the place was a bit hard in the first place because it was already dark outside. But Ursula responded immediately after we send her a message and we found it really easy. The place is very clean and it is bigger than we expected. There is wood to make a fire and have a great night. Thanks again Ursula and maybe till the next time.

 

Jeroen

April 2018

 


 

Definitely a place worth coming back to. We love the vintage decor but the way that it was done gave it a modern twist. Some really cool artwork on the walls. The weather wasn't great when we arrived but the place was cosy with the heating on. The place was clean and tidy. The village  is lovely which everyone should visit. We have recommended this place to our friends and families and look forward to coming back again. Thank Ursula for being an excellent host.

 

Sylvia

April 2018

 


 

Simply lovely ! The gite was beautiful and wonderfully relaxing. We loved the original decor, using local Mayenne textiles and recycled objects crafted by local artisans. It’s a perfect base to explore the charming village of Fontaine Daniel and it’s fascinating history. Ursula was an attentive and thoughtful host, easily contactable and full of great recommendations . We hope to return soon.

 

Lisa

April 2018

 


 

An amazing experience in a cozy and beautiful house. Ursula is a great host that you can contact anytime and who will always make his best to make your stay comfortable. It wasn't easy to leave this place and we hope to come back there soon.

 

Franck

March 2018

 


 

Le gîte ainsi que le reste du village est un véritable havre de paix, nous y avons fait de jolies rencontres. Très propre et joliment décoré, parfait pour un week-end en amoureux au calme.

 

Marion

April 2019

 


 

Très bon séjour à passer au calme, en amoureux.

 

François

March 2019


 

Séjourner chez Ursula c est comme une petite parenthèse enchantée... le lieu est magique, la décoration pointue, la literie confortable et la salle de bain est un régal. On passe un moment reposant, agréable au cœur d’un magnifique village plein de charme. Parfaite escapade en amoureux.

Nathalie

October 2018


 

Merci à Ursula pour son accueil. Son logement fut à la hauteur de nos attentes et même davantage ! Belle découverte. Nous y retournerons avec grand plaisir.

 

Arnaud

February 2019

 


 

Een echte aanrader! Buitengewoon sfeer- en smaakvol ingericht. Een heerlijk bed, een fijne keuken en een mooie woonkamer die rust uitstraalt. Gesitueerd in een kleine, maar unieke gemeenschap. Ursula is gastvrij, attent, en terecht een Top-host!

 

 

Wim

July 2018

 


 

3éme sejour... toujours aussi confortable !

 

Gilles

June 2018

 

2eme séjour chez Ursula et ... ... toujours aussi bien !!

 

 

Gilles

June 2018

 

 

Trés bel endroit !!! La rénovation est vraiment de qualité, la décoration élegante et actuelle. Le gite est spacieux, belle hauteur sous plafonds Literie trés confortable, sommeil profond grâce au calme Ursula est trés conviviale.

 

Gilles

May 2018

 


 

Un petit coin de Paradis...

 

Isabelle

May 2018


 

Hôte très disponible et accueillante. Très beau gîte idéal pour les weekend entre couple.

 

Andrea

May 2018


Un véritable coup de coeur!

 

Une expérience unique au coeur d'un petit écrin de verdure et d'authenticité. Le logement est simplement parfait. Spacieux, confortable et chaleureux. L'hôte est solaire et pleine de petites attentions qui donnent à l'expérience une saveur supplémentaire. Sels de bain, yaourts et confiture maison, thé, fleurs fraîches... Tout est là! La salle de bain EST exceptionnelle et le confort du canapé face au poêle un régal! La boulangerie en face de l'appartement est excellente, l'épicerie (juste en sortant) très grande et ne manque de rien. Les gens sont très accessibles et l'ambiance du village trés chaleureuse. Le lac est ravissant et le potentiel de balade à velo grand. Nous avons visité la ferme de Fanny et Annick proche de Mayenne et vous la recommandons vivement. Vous y rencontrerez 2 femmes passionnées et d'un courage hors norme s'occupant d'une exploitation bio et pleine de bon sens et de nobles valeurs. Nous avons ue du mal à repartir, a tel point que nous avons renouveler notre réservation pour août.

 

Foncez! Vous ne le regretterez pas!

 

Aurelie

May 2018


Bon séjour dans un bel appartement joliment décoré avec des matériaux de choix et de provenance locale. Belle région, belle nature avec un environnement de qualité grâce à une épicerie proposant des produits biologiques et locaux. Idem pour la boulangerie. Activité artisanale (toiles de Mayenne).

 

 

Guy

October 2017


The pictures of this beautiful Gite are great, but its actually even better than it looks, the shower is powerful the bed is so comfy the furniture not only beautiful but also really good quality. the situation is perfect the creperie is great, the epicerie which is on the doorstep serves great coffee, wine and menu de jour, they also had a concert while we were there we were welcomed by the local community, we also ate at the Forge, more formal beautiful food. supermarkets in Mayenne for every possible need and the market too. we will definitely return thank yo Ursula for what was a magical weekend in a beautiful location.
Angela
June 2018
Airbnb

Wow, what an amazing space Ursula had provided. A spacious gite for two in a beautiful little village; very friendly and picturesque. The gite is furnished with an artist’s eye, with a mix of antiques and modern facilities, and some great local art. Very comfortable, with a beautiful log burner and a massive bath, which was just what we needed after a day on the motorbike and an hour’s heavy downpour. The fire was perfect for a nap before we ventured out to look around the village. L’Epicerie next door was absolutely amazing. It had everything from local produce and beer, to the essentials for a trip when you are travelling light. They also have a small bar area for a quick beer / wine and a mooch amongst the English and French books on sale. I can’t recommend this gite highly enough. It was an absolute pleasure and Ursula was the perfect host. She was there to greet us, gave us enough information to help us on our stay, and then left us to our own devices. Communication was always instant and she was a pleasure to deal with. We’ll most definitely be back. Thanks again Ursula.
Jason
May 2018
Airbnb

Simply lovely ! The gite was beautiful and wonderfully relaxing. We loved the original decor, using local Mayenne textiles and recycled objects crafted by local artisans. It’s a perfect base to explore the charming village of Fontaine Daniel and it’s fascinating history. Ursula was an attentive and thoughtful host, easily contactable and full of great recommendations . We hope to return soon.

 

Lisa

April 2018

Airbnb


 

The place is amazing, it even looks better than the pictures. Finding the place was a bit hard in the first place because it was already dark outside. But Ursula responded immediately after we send her a message and we found it really easy. The place is very clean and it is bigger than we expected. There is wood to make a fire and have a great night. Thanks again Ursula and maybe till the next time

 

Jeroen

April 2018

Airbnb


Definitely a place worth coming back to. We love the vintage decor but the way that it was done gave it a modern twist. Some really cool artwork on the walls. The weather wasn't great when we arrived but the place was cosy with the heating on. The place was clean and tidy. The village (Saint-Georges-Buttaven) is lovely which everyone should visit. We have recommended this place to our friends and families and look forward to coming back again. Thank Ursula for being an excellent host.
Sylvia
April 2018
Airbnb

An amazing experience in a cozy and beautiful house. Ursula is a great host that you can contact anytime and who will always make his best to make your stay comfortable. It wasn't easy to leave this place and we hope to come back there soon.
Franc
March 2018
Airbnb

Simply lovely ! The gite was beautiful and wonderfully relaxing. We loved the original decor, using local Mayenne textiles and recycled objects crafted by local artisans. It’s a perfect base to explore the charming village of Fontaine Daniel and it’s fascinating history. Ursula was an attentive and thoughtful host, easily contactable and full of great recommendations . We hope to return soon.
Lisa
April 2018
Airbnb

This was a flying visit to Fontaine-Daniel as a recce for a longer stay for our wedding anniversary. The gite is a delight, handcrafted by local artisans using traditional materials with original touches. It's extremely comfortable with all amenities and finished to a high standard. A lovely place to relax and unwind The village is exceptional, built by a beautiful lake in the eighteenth century and home of the beautiful Toiles de Mayenne linen which is manufactured in an ancient mill there. There's a fabulous elegant factory shop too. The creperie and restaurant are delicious and we and managed to fit in a visit to the little local nunnery in the woods and see their chapel, herb garden and buy some local honey and homemade bees wax candles. Ursula could not have been more helpful with arrangements and gave us a personal guided tour of the village and a welcome glass of wine in the nearby epicerie. A magical place and we're so looking forward to the visit in the summer.
Carrie
March 2018
Airbnb

Trés bel endroit !!! La rénovation est vraiment de qualité, la décoration élegante et actuelle. Le gite est spacieux, belle hauteur sous plafonds Literie trés confortable, sommeil profond grâce au calme Ursula est trés conviviale.
....2eme séjour chez Ursula et ... ... toujours aussi bien !!
.... 3éme sejour... toujours aussi confortable !
Gilles
May 2018
Airbnb

Hôte très disponible et accueillante. Très beau gîte idéal pour les weekend entre couple.
Andrea
May 2018
Airbnb

Un véritable coup de coeur! Une expérience unique au coeur d'un petit écrin de verdure et d'authenticité. Le logement est simplement parfait. Spacieux, confortable et chaleureux. L'hôte est solaire et pleine de petites attentions qui donnent à l'expérience une saveur supplémentaire. Sels de bain, yaourts et confiture maison, thé, fleurs fraîches... Tout est là! La salle de bain EST exceptionnelle et le confort du canapé face au poêle un régal! La boulangerie en face de l'appartement est excellente, l'épicerie (juste en sortant) très grande et ne manque de rien. Les gens sont très accessibles et l'ambiance du village trés chaleureuse. Le lac est ravissant et le potentiel de balade à velo grand. Nous avons visité la ferme de Fanny et Annick proche de Mayenne et vous la recommandons vivement. Vous y rencontrerez 2 femmes passionnées et d'un courage hors norme s'occupant d'une exploitation bio et pleine de bon sens et de nobles valeurs. Nous avons ue du mal à repartir, a tel point que nous avons renouveler notre réservation pour août. Foncez! Vous ne le regretterez pas!
Aurelie
May 2018
Airbnb

Le logement est grand, fonctionnel pour 2 personnes et très bien décoré, nous y avons passé un agréable séjour. Il se situe en plus dans un très joli village, calme et disposant de toutes les commodités (épicerie et boulangerie). Nous y retournerons si nous en avons l'occasion !
Clara
May 2018
Airbnb

Bon séjour dans un bel appartement joliment décoré avec des matériaux de choix et de provenance locale. Belle région, belle nature avec un environnement de qualité grâce à une épicerie proposant des produits biologiques et locaux. Idem pour la boulangerie. Activité artisanale (toiles de Mayenne).

Guy

Octobre 2017

Airbnb


The Star Throwers Programme is all about looking beyond our own lives and our own businesses to our wider community and ask ourselves ‘what can I do to help?

 

 

 

 

 

“If you think you are too small to make a difference, try sleeping with a mosquito.” Dalai Lama

 

“Service to others is the rent you pay for the room here on earth” – Muhammad Ali

 

“What you do makes a difference, and you have to decide what kind of difference you want to make.” Jane Goodall

 

“If you want to lift yourself up, lift up someone else” Booker T Washington

 

“A civilization flourishes when people plant trees under which they will never sit”  Greek Proverb